About GCE A Level


To develop, strengthen, and expand education and facilities for quality instruction in order to meet the changing needs of today’s children.


To create an educational world in which children of all backgrounds from all corners of the country have an opportunity for quality and affordable education.


To provide education that is at the forefront of professionalism in Nepal. To help students realize their full potential, develop respectful and positive attitudes towards life and people


The A Level syllabus is subdivided into two parts:

  • The AS syllabus content is expected to be covered in the first half of the course
  • Part two of the syllabus in the second year is referred to as ‘A2’ and is completed in the second year


Examinations take place twice a year in June and November with results issued in August and January

  • You can take all A Level components in the same examination session at the end of a course of study, usually at the end of the second year.
  • Follow a staged assessment to an A Level by taking the AS qualification in one examination session and the A2 assessment in a subsequent session.
  • Take the AS qualification only either at the end of a one-year or two-year course.
  • There are six passing grades (A* – E).
  • LA provides scholarships to outstanding meritorious students who fulfill certain criteria

Eligibility Criteria:

The candidate must have passed the School Leaving Certificate (SLC) or an equivalent examination recognized by the Ministry of Education, with a competitive grade in the desired subject/s.

Valued Voice